2001 HOBBY AWARDS BALLOT

Jim Burgess, New Chair of the Hobby Awards Committee: I am very honored to be taking over the chairmanship of this committee this year. The Hobby Awards have a long and proud tradition in the US Diplomacy Hobby and I am continuing an effort to expand the scope and reach of the awards. This year we have eight nominees in each category, except for the Rod Walker Award for Literary Achievement where the Founder of the Feast weighs in, so we have nine nominees in that category. Please publicize this ballot, reproduce and send it to your Diplomatic mailing lists.



John Koning Award (Player Performance) Bob Acheson (Winning CanCon 2K) http://www.diplomaticcorps.org/PastEvents/CanCon2K.txt Simon Bouton (Winning World DipCon X) http://devel.diplom.org/DipPouch/Face/results/zAvalon2000.html Christian Dreyer (Winning Demo Game Ruffians) http://www.diplomacyworld.org/issues/issue86/86ruffians.htm Mark Fassio (Winning Demo Game Arsenic and Old Farts) Endgame Statements at http://devel.diplom.org/DipPouch/Postal/Zines/TAP/abvss244.html David Hood (Winning DipCon XXXIV) http://devel.diplom.org/armada/2001/results.html Glenn Ledder (Increased JDPR 301 points from 16th to 2nd during 2000) http://devel.diplom.org/DipPouch/Email/Ratings/JDPR/top5000.html Karlis Povisils (Increased JDPR 327 points from 19th to 1st during 2000) http://devel.diplom.org/DipPouch/Email/Ratings/JDPR/top5000.html Lee Simpson (Winning the 1999 WorldMasters Tournament, mostly during 2000) http://worldmasters00.diplomacy.org.uk/england.html Fred Hyatt Award (GM Performance) Doug Burgoyne (Cat23 GM) http://www.cat23.com/ & http://www.geocities.com/apocalypseinparadise/ Bruce Duewer (Judge GM) http://www4.ncsu.edu/eos/users/b/beduewer/www/diplomacy.html Greg Greenman (Judge GM) http://www.spencersoft.com/diplomacy/ Andy Lischett (Postal GM of Cheesecake) Michael Lowrey (Carolina Command & Commentary and now Houdini Blues GM) http://devel.diplom.org/DipPouch/Postal/Zines/TAP/hblues2.html Ted Miller (1999 Worldmasters Tournament Director and GM) http://worldmasters99.diplomacv.org.uk/gm.htm Tim Miller (Judge GM) http://members.tripod.com/btamil/btamilphoto/id6.html Tim Richardson (Email GM) http://deeplight.net/tor/

VOTERS!!! - PLEASE SIGN YOUR NAME LEGIBLY BELOW OR E-MAIL FROM A "DOCUMENTABLE" E-MAIL ADDRESS – ALL DIPLOMACY PLAYERS ELIGIBLE!!!

Again, the Committee is soliciting a \$1.00 donation per vote to defray costs of the awards themselves. This is a voluntary donation and does not affect your vote's status in any way. We will continue to send the winners plaques. The Committee currently consists of myself (Chair), Fred Davis (Treasurer), Gary Behnen, Melinda Holley, Jamie Dreier, Paul Kenny, and Robert Lesco. The voting deadline is *Sept. 2, 2001*. Please send votes, contributions, and comments to:

Jim Burgess, 664 Smith Street, Providence, RI 02908-4327 USA, burgess@world.std.com

Thank you for your participation.